The fortified city

Obidos. The old fortified city is not more than 75 -80 kms outside Lisbon and can easily be reached by local bus. This was the day that I discovered the delicious coxinhas de frango- the tasty chicken balls. Tasted the first one in a local bus station while waiting for the bus early in the morning around 8 am. I couldn’t get enough of it and before I even got to board the bus I had hogged down 4 of those tasty little things. Right, back to Obidos. My memory of that place , like all the other places I traveled to in Portugal are that of returning back there again and bringing my loved one’s along so I can share the beauty and breathtaking views. I remember walking into this little garment shop and got talking to the gentleman there who told me he was renting his place for around 200 Euros for 2 weeks. I went there in the month of September and from what I could see, it wasn’t buzzing with tourists at that time which was great. The little old man asked me if I wanted to see his place and of course, I did. So he called his son to take over looking after the shop and off we went to his place which wasn’t more than 7 mins walk away.It was nothing how I expected it to be. This house was HUGE. He was renting out was his whole house. There were 3 bedrooms, separate living room, dining and kitchen. The whole place for 200 Euros. I was baffled. After asking him again to make sure I got it right, it was confirmed he was asking for only 200 Euros. So I took his information and said to myself, am coming back here. Av yet to go back. Here are a few pictures of Obidos. A beautifully preserved Medieval town encircled by the old wall, you can walk and get the feel of the place.
lyon,montreal, portugal 211 (2) lyon,montreal, portugal 231 (2) lyon,montreal, portugal 236 (2) lyon,montreal, portugal 243 (2) lyon,montreal, portugal 244 (2) lyon,montreal, portugal 249 (2)

2 thoughts on “The fortified city

Leave a Reply

